
Get Help 
 
La Leche League promotes 
breastfeeding through mother-to-mother 
support and education. Free telephone 
counseling is available 24 hours a day. 
Call 1-800-LALECHE 
www.lalecheleague.org 
 
Women, Infant and Children (WIC) 
program targets low-income women, 
infants, and children up to age 5.  Lactation 
consultants and pumps are available for 
moms who qualify. 
Call 1-888-WICWORKS 
www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/WICworks 
 
The National Women's Health 
Information Center has a 
Breastfeeding Helpline in both English and 
Spanish.  Call 1-800-994-9662  
www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding 
 
California Department of Public 
Health offers helpful information and links 
on http://cdph.ca.gov/Breastfeeding  
Click on “going back to work or school” 
section. 
 
Working and Pumping  
• www.pumpingmoms.org 
• www.workandpump.com 
• www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpa/hwi/toolkits         

/lactation/index.htm 
 
Find a Quality Breast Pump 
Contact your local hospital, WIC, or Public 
Health Department to find where to buy or 
rent a good pump. 

Make a plan with your employer 
before your baby is born! 

 

 
 
 

Example schedule for pumping milk 
Breastfeed or pump before work 

10:00 am Morning break 
12:30 pm Lunch 
3:30 pm Afternoon break 

Breastfeed or pump after work 
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Do you need help with your 
employer? 

 
Call the California Workers’ Information 

Hotline at 1-866-924-9757 



You already know that 
breastfeeding is better! 

 
Babies who are breastfed get sick less 
often. 
 
Babies who are breastfed have a lower 
risk for diabetes, obesity, and cancer later 
in life.  
 
Mothers who breastfeed have a lower risk 
for breast and ovarian cancer. 
 
Families of breastfed babies save money. 
 
Families of breastfed babies miss fewer 
days of work.   
 
Employers have lower healthcare costs. 

 

 

 

But… 
 where will I pump at work? 

 
� An empty office 
� A women’s lounge area 
� A first aid room 
� A dressing room 
� A cubicle with a curtain 
� An extra room that you can 

schedule to use in your building 

Did you know…? 
 

There is a California Law* that 
protects your right to pump breast milk 

while at work. 
 

The law says that your employer must provide 
you with a clean space (not the bathroom) and 

break time to pump. 
 

Plan to adjust your work breaks in order to 
pump your milk regularly. 

 

 
 

How long should you breastfeed? 
 

Doctors recommend that babies should be fed 
with breast-milk only – no formula – for the first 

six months of life. 
 

Ideally, babies should receive breast-milk at 
least through the first year of life. 

 
The longer you breastfeed your baby, the 

greater the benefits for both of you! 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Tips for breastfeeding after  

returning to work: 
 

� Start by making a plan. Talk to your 
employer before your baby is born. 

 
� Attend prenatal classes at your hospital, 

workplace, or WIC clinic.   
 
� Get breastfeeding off to a good start by 

feeding your baby early and often. 
 
� Take as many weeks off as you can.  

Ideally, take at least 6 weeks off. 
 
� There are many different types of pumps 

on the market.  If possible, buy or rent an 
electric double pump.  These pumps 
reduce pumping time and helps increase 
your milk supply (as if you had twins). 

 
� Begin pumping your milk a few weeks 

before returning to work and have 
someone else feed your baby the bottle. 

 
� Be prepared to pump about three times 

per 8 hour shift, for 10 to 30 minutes,  
(depending on the type of pump you use). 

 
� You can use a cooler or find a refrigerator 

or freezer to store the milk at work.  
Storage instructions come with pump.   

 
� Continue to breastfeed when you are with 

your baby. 
 
� Join a support group in your 

neighborhood or at work.  (See “Get 
Help”) 

 
 

*Lactation Accommodation:  
(Cal. Lab. Code §1030, 1031) 
Every employer, including the state and any political
subdivision, shall provide a reasonable amount of break time
to accommodate an employee desiring to express breast milk
for the employee's infant child. The break time shall, if
possible, run concurrently with any break time already
provided to the employee. Break time for an employee that
does not run concurrently with the rest time authorized for
the employee by the applicable wage order of the Industrial
Welfare Commission shall be unpaid.  The employer shall
make reasonable efforts to provide the employee with the use
of a room or other location, other than a toilet stall, in close
proximity to the employee's work area, for the employee to
express milk in private. The room or location may include
the place where the employee normally works if it otherwise
meets the requirements of this section. 


