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2012 California Child Passenger Safety Law

California Law Requires:

> A child under the age of 8 be “properly buckled” in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
> A child age 8 or older may use the vehicle seat belt if “properly buckled”. Properly buckled

means:

1. The vehicle lap belt on the child’s lap (not on their stomach), and
2. The vehicle shoulder belt crossing the center of the child’s chest.

If they are unable to be properly buckled in this way, they must ride in a booster seat so
the lap belt is on the child’s lap and the shoulder belt crosses the center of their chest.

> Everyone in the car must be properly buckled up. For each child under 16 who is not properly
secured, the driver (and parent if in the car) will be fined more than $475 and one point on their

driving record.

Hospitalizations and deaths from car accidents
are within the top five leading causes of injury
among the 2.6 million children, 16 years of age
and younger in Los Angeles County. Riding
“improperly buckled” is the number one reason for
these injuries. While 96% of parents report that
they believe they are using their child seats
correctly, survey results have shown misuse rates
over 90%.

The 5-Step Test gives steps needed to make
sure your child is “properly buckled” as required
under the law. If you have questions or would like
a FREE inspection call 1-866-732-8243 or visit

NOTE: LATCH System,
Birth-2 years (Rear Facing)

65-Ibs maximum weight
A ¥ (combined seat & child)

2-3 years (Rear Facing - Forward Facing)
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4-7 years (Forward Facing - Booster)

d

8-12+ years (Booster - Seat Belt)
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5-Step Test

1. Does your child sit with their bottom back against the vehicle back seat?
2. Do your child’s knees bend comfortably over the edge of the vehicle seat?
3. Does the shoulder belt cross the between the center of the child’s chest?

4. Is the lap belt lying flat on the child’s lap?

5. Can your child stay seated in this position for the entire trip?

__Yes __No
__Yes __ No
__Yes __ No
__Yes __ No

Yes No

If you answered “No” to ANY question, your child needs to be seated in a booster seat.

Keep this 5-Step Test with your car registration so you can test your child as they grow. Remember, if your
child rides in different vehicles, each vehicle seat size is different, so your child needs to be tested for each
vehicle. Once you and your child learn these steps, it is easy to remember. If you have questions or need
your seat inspected, call 1.866-732-8243 or visit www.seatcheck.org
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