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Group 

 
Agency or Authority 

 
Law, Regulation and/or Policy Directives 

 

 
Enforcement Authority 

CHILD CARE 
 

Children in child care 

centers (excludes services 
without a contract or 
agreement between the parent 
and center for regular care of 
child) 

 
California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 

 
CCR Title 22 Section 101220. All children 
must be evaluated for TB risk factors as part 
of the medical assessment required for 
admission (Form 701 or PM 171A) prior to, 
within 30 calendar days following child’s 
enrollment. Medical assessment should not 
be more than one-year-old when obtained. 

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 

 

Classified Teachers in 

child care centers  

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division  
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 
 

 
HSC 1597.055 - SB 792 (2015) provided the 
alternative of a TB risk assessment 
administered not more than 1 year prior or 7 
days after employment or licensure as part of 
facility personnel health screening (Form 
503). If risk factors are identified, a TB test 
and examination should be performed by a 
health care provider to determine that the 
person is free of infectious TB.  No repeat 
exam. 

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 
through licensing visits by 
Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) 
Evaluator Transmittal No. 16APX-
16 -Appendix A- 2015 Chaptered 
Legislation 
 

 

Employees & 
Volunteers other than 
teachers in child care 

centers  
 

 
California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 
744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 

 
California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 
22, Section 101216 
TB testing result required as part of facility 
personnel health screening (Form 503) 
not more than 1 year prior or 7 days after 
employment or licensure. No repeat exam. 
 

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 
through licensing visits by 
Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) 

 

Family day care home 
adult applicants applying 

for licensure or any adult 

 
California Department of Social 
Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
Division 

 
HSC Section 1597.54 SB 792 (2015) 
provided the alternative of a TB risk 
assessment administered not more than 1 
year prior or 7 days after employment or 

 
Department of Social Services,  
Community Care Licensing 
enforces licensing requirements 
through licensing visits by 



California TB Screening Mandates for Child Care, Crisis Nurseries, Head Start, K-12 Schools, Park & Recreational 
Employees, Community Colleges, Schools for The Deaf and Blind    

January 10, 2018   2    
 

in the home during the time 

that children are under care 

Employees and 
Volunteers (who provide 

care and supervision to 
children) 
 

744 P Street, MS: 9-14-48 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
(916) 651-6040  
FAX (916) 651-051 

licensure as part of facility personnel health 
screening (Form 503). If risk factors are 
identified, a TB test and examination should 
be performed by a health care provider to 
determine that the person is free of infectious 
TB.  No repeat exam. 
 

Licensing Program Analysts 
(LPAs) 
Evaluator Transmittal No. 16APX-
16 -Appendix A- 2015 Chaptered 
Legislation 

CRISIS NURSERIES 

 

Volunteer caregivers 
 

 
California Department of Social 
Services (CDSS). Crisis nurseries 
are nonprofit corporations that care 
for and supervise children under 6 
who are voluntarily placed in the 
crisis nursery by a parent or legal 
guardian due to a family crisis or 
stressful situation for no more than 
30 days 

 
Health and Safety Code Section 1526.8 
requires caregivers in a crisis nursery to be 
tested for tuberculosis not more than one 
year prior to, or 7 days after initial presence 
in the facility. 
 

 
Licensed by CDSS, Community 
Care Licensing 

HEADSTART 

 
Students, employees & 
volunteers  

 
Federal program authorized under 
federal law 

 
Students are screened with TB risk 
assessment, per American Academy of 
Pediatrics recommendations, and tested if 
risk factors on admission. 
 45 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 
Chapter XIII, Subchapter B, Part 1302.93 
and 1302.94 Head Start Staff Health & 
Wellness: Federal Register 9/6/2016. 
Programs must ensure each staff member 
has an initial health exam in accordance with 
state, tribal, or local requirements, that 
include screens or tests for 
communicable diseases.  The program must 
ensure staff does not, because of 
communicable diseases, pose a significant 
risk to the health or safety of others in the 

 
Head Start and Early Head Start 
programs are administered by the 
Office of Head Start (OHS), within 
the Administration for Children 
and Families (ACF), U.S. 
Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS) 
 
OHS administers grant funding 
and oversight to the 1,700 public 
and private nonprofit and for-profit 
agencies that provide Head Start 
services in the US 
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program.  No prescribed timeframe for re-
examination is stated. 
 

K-12 SCHOOLS
 

Students in K-12 public, 

private, charter schools 
 

 
Local Health Officers (LHO)  
 

 
HSC 121475-121520, HSC121490 
TB risk assessment and if indicated, a test. 
Form typically used is the PM 171A-Report 
of Health Exam for School Entry. 
 
 

 
LHO has the authority to regulate; 
check locally because some 
counties have a TB risk 
assessment mandate. 
 

 

Teachers, employees, 
contractors & 
volunteers having contact 

with pupils in K-12 public, 
private, charter schools 
 
 
 
 

 
CA Department of Education 
(CDE) 
Services for Administration, 
Finance, Technology, & 
Infrastructure Branch,  
Personnel Services Division,  
916-319-0896 
Fax: 916-319-0511 
1430 N St. Sacto, CA. 95814 

 
Education Code (EC) 49406  
Health & Safety Code (HSC) sections 
121525-121555   
A TB risk assessment is administered 
within 60 days of hire and if risk factors are 
identified, a TB test and examination should 
be performed by a health care provider to 
determine that the person is free of infectious 
TB.  Form required is TCB-01 with a signed 
certificate of completion.  Repeat risk 
assessments every 4 years (unless 
otherwise required).  
 

 
Delegated to the Local 
Superintendent of Schools 

 
Heritage School 
Employees & 
Volunteers 
 
 

 
CA Department of Education 
(CDE) 
registers Heritage schools 
annually. EC Section 33195.4 
states that heritage schools serve 
students already attending K-12 & 
provide education or academic 
tutoring on the culture, tradition, 
language or history of a country 
other than the US. 

 
EC 33195.6 requires a TB test within the 
prior 60 days of initial employment or 
volunteer assignment and every 4 years 
thereafter. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
CA Department of Education 
(CDE) at  
heritageschools@cde.ca.gov or 
916-445-7331 
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PARK & 
RECREATIONAL 
EMPLOYEES 
 

Park & Recreational 
employees or food 
concessionaire having 

contact with children in parks, 
playground, recreational 
center, or beach 

 

 
Parks & Recreation Departments 
of state and local governments 
 

 
California Public Resources Code (PRC) 
Section 5163 requires TB testing at initial 
employment and every 4 years thereafter 
 
 

 
Local, Regional and State 
government agencies who 
overseeing Park & Rec 
employees 
 

COMMUNITY 

COLLEGES 

 

Employees in an 
academic or classified 
position in a California 

community college  

 
California Community Colleges 
Board of Governors and the 
Chancellor's Office, 
Eloy Ortiz Oakley (916) 322-4005 
 

 
EC 87408.6 -SB 1038 (2017) requires TB 
risk assessment administered within 60 
days of hire and if risk factors are identified, 
a TB test and examination should be 
performed by a health care provider to 
determine that the person is free of infectious 
TB. Form required is TCB-01 with a signed 
certificate of completion. Repeat risk 
assessments every 4 years (unless 
otherwise required). 

 
State level- Board of Governors, 
Chancellor and locally, the 
governing board of the community 
college district 

SCHOOLS FOR 

DEAF & BLIND  
ONLY located in Alameda & 
Riverside Counties 
Students attending 
Schools for the Deaf (in 

Fremont & Riverside) & Blind 

(Fremont) 

CA Department of Education 
 
 

EC 59150 
Students are tested for exposure to TB at 
least once every 2 years. The results shall 
be provided to the school director. The 
parent or guardian of the student is 
responsible for the cost 
 

CDE- Student Support & Special 

Services Branch  
-State Special Schools &    
Services Division 
Special School Director 

 
  

 


